Index on Censorship’s Freedom of Expression Awards: Judging Panel announced


Today, Index on Censorship has announced its panel of judges for its Freedom of Expression Awards 2017, which will be held on 19 April 2017 at the Unicorn Theatre, London.


The five judges are Harry Potter actor Noma Dumezweni, former Vanity Fair editor Tina Brown, Superflux co-founder Anab Jain, Heaven 17’s former manager Stephen Budd, and Doughty Street Chambers barrister Caoilfhionn Gallagher.


Index on Censorship’s Freedom of Expression Awards exist to celebrate individuals or groups who have had a significant impact fighting censorship anywhere in the world. Awards are offered in four categories: Arts, Campaigning, Digital Activism and Journalism.  Anyone who has had a demonstrable impact in tackling censorship is eligible.  Winners join Index’s Awards Fellowship programme and receive dedicated training and support  Previous winners include Nobel Peace Prize winner Malala Yousafzai, Israeli conductor Daniel Barenboim, and Russian journalist Anna Polittkovskaya.  This year’s shortlist will be announced on 17 January 2017, in advance of the ceremony on 19 April 2017.


More information about the awards is available here and Index on Censorship’s press release about the judging panel is available here.  You can follow details about the awards on twitter using the hashtag #IndexAwards2017

« Back to listing

About cookies on our website

Following a revised EU directive on website cookies, each company based, or doing business, in the EU is required to notify users about the cookies used on their website.

Our site uses cookies to improve your experience of certain areas of the site and to allow the use of specific functionality like social media page sharing. You may delete and block all cookies from this site, but as a result parts of the site may not work as intended.

To find out more about what cookies are, which cookies we use on this website and how to delete and block cookies, please see our Which cookies we use page.

Click on the button below to accept the use of cookies on this website (this will prevent the dialogue box from appearing on future visits)